Web3 Development Journey #1

Web3 Development Journey #1

·

4 min read

I had bought my first BTC and jumped in crypto world in 2017-2018 like most of you. Then, I lost my interest due to market crash. After the COVID crash in whole markets, I started to research crypto projects again. Some projects' names were familiar but I heard novel projects and very attractive new terms such as Layer1, DeFi, AMM, DEX. I was so curious in these terms. The idea of decentralized applications made me super excited.

Diving into DeFi Projects

The Youtube video about Avalanche made me thrilled and I decided to make an investment in ICO of Avalanche. My knowledge was very limited, I even set-up my crypto wallet (Metamask) other people's help. After the investment, I followed up Avalanche and its ecosystem closely.

Projects had started to launch on Avalanche network (Layer1 term had become more meaningful in my mind.). I had used almost every project's applications (let's called in right term, dApp) and took part in communities of these projects. Then, I realized that collaborative work and contributing are the main key in this industry.

Do you want to take part in a project? Then, be active and contribute. It's that simple. I got my jobs (in position of community manager/moderator) in DeFi in that way, without any job application.

At that point, I decided to learn more about the technical side in order to be a creator, not just user.

Researchs for being developer

There are tons of amazing resources about Web3 development. I listed some of them, all is free!

  • Buildspace: Choose project and learn by doing.

  • UseWeb3: Books, challenges, courses, guides, tutorials about Web3.

  • LearnWeb3: Cover all topics related to blockchain A->Z. Doesn't even know what blockchain is? No problem, you learn all of them.

  • Nader Dabit's Blog and Youtube Videos: He is a legend. He has many blog posts and videos about becoming developer in Web3 industry.

  • Patrick Collins's Amazing 32-Hour Course: Another legend. He published a course that covers all topics about full stack Web3 development.

  • CryptoZombie: Learn about smart contracts in Solidity and having fun.

Which path I chose?

To clarify, I use some programming languages in my daily job and personal works but I'm not a developer yet. I have some HTML+CSS knowledge but never used JavaScript which is very crucial language to know in this industry.

I had completed CryptoZombie to learn about Solidity firstly. It has several steps and helped me a lot about Solidity. But my main goal is not just to write smart contracts, it's being full stack Web3 developer. So, I realized that I need much more organized course. Due to their classification teaching method, I go with LearnWeb3.

image.png

LearnWeb3 Freshman

Freshman section of LearnWeb3 covers essential topics. I'm already familiar with blockchain and crypto related terms, but as I said before, I need to learn Javascript and React JS very well. So, I study both these topics and Javascript simultaneously.

Basic Programming, What is Blockchain?, What is Web3, What is ETH, Crypto Wallets, Remix IDE, Solidity, dApp, Cryptocurrency, and NFT are topics of Freshman section.

Learning Javascript

There are some additional resources/links in each topics on LearnWeb3. They suggest two courses on Scrimba which is also awesome website to learn about web development.

  1. Learn Javascript for Free by Per Harald Borgen
  2. Learn React for Free by Bob Ziroll

I have just completed the course about Javascript today. It is interactive and very instructive course. Scrimba's Discord server is also very helpful and friendly place to ask if you have an issue. I definitely would recommend it to everyone who wants to learn Javascript.

What's next?

I will start to learn React and continue my other courses in LearnWeb3 at the same time. After that, if I feel comfortable about Javascript and React enough, my next course will be Patrick Collins's awesome course.

Lastly, I would like to thank Per Harald Borgen and Eda to encourage me about writing my journey. They didn't encourage me in personal, they don't even know me but their thoughts encourage me.

I hope that I can continue to write my journey as it makes progress. If you also want to learn about Web3 development, let's keep in touch. You can follow me on Twitter.